The Six Paramitas

The Six Paramitas, the six perfections or transcendences

They are the six practices that ferry one across the ocean of bitter sufferings to the other shore of Nirvana.

1) Perfection of charity or generosity.

2) Perfection of precepts or righteousness.

3) Perfection of forbearance or patience.

4) Perfection of exertion or effort.

5) Perfection of samadhi or intensive meditation.

6) Perfection of wisdom, or the realization of transcendental wisdom.